How I Engage in continuing professional development activities that have a positive impact on classroom activities

image

I have initiated a Reading Lab at the school where the learners go once a week and their level of reading is assessed and improved . on every level they gain 1500 new words as well as grammer and spelling skills along with comprehension tests. They have to complete a minimum of 6 activities in grade 8 up to 12 in grade 12.

During the unrest of the past year I was one of the teachers who presented topics on Life Science on Friday evenings on the Motsweding FM to help the matrics pass their final exams.

I also attend workshops like the CAPS workshop and others held by Somerset in the past to learn how to use new methods or techniques in the class room.

I presented a workshop to help teachers understand how to do their grade 12 CASS marks on excel.

I am on the SDT for IQMS at My school.

I teach winter school at Girls High during the June holidays

As subject head for Life Orientation I am now guiding the new LO teacher in implementing the SIASTA programme Screening, Identifying, assessing and supporting learners with ADHD, dislecsia, and learning difficulties. So far I have identified 12 learners.

As subject head for LS and LO I have meetings at the beginning of each term with educators to make sure everyone knows exactly what they need to do for the term, and what they need for the task as hand as well as do classroom visits as part of IQMS and moderate the tasks completed by learners . I also check test papers before they may be copied and I set all the Grade 9 to 12 LO formal assessment tasks.

I am usually selected as a marker for the Grade 12 exam papers and have at least 4 years experience (I took a three year gap during and after my pregnancy).

In 2011 I set a common paper for the Grade 10 Life Sciences for the June exam in the Potchefstroom area.

One thought on “How I Engage in continuing professional development activities that have a positive impact on classroom activities

Leave a Reply

