Editor of The Mooi 2013

Beginnings and Endings.
image

Beginnings are usually scary and after the departure of Mrs Hillary de Villiers (my predecessor) I was both excited and scared to take on such a huge venture. In the beginning my skills as an editor and manager were nonexistent. I struggled to get good quality articles as well as photos for the various events. I had no contact with the Old Mooi’s and knew very little about graphic programs, but I learnt and I grew. I realised that without change we don’t grow – which means we don’t live – and everything that has happened in the last eight years became worth the wile. I learnt a lot about Time Management, Goal Setting and Motivation. I had terrible failures but never gave up; not even when the whole issue was scrapped in 2007. Now at last I am satisfied.

Every new beginning comes from another beginning’s end. It is the end of the line for me as editor of the yearbook. It is time to change, to grow into a new direction. I’m not giving up, I’m just starting over. I have hope, new way of looking at my new challenge as Barnard’s House Mistress for 2014.

I wish to thank Mr Cartwright, my first Boys High headmaster, for giving me the opportunity to try, and Mrs Henrey for teaching me how to spell ‘opportunity’, where not to place full stops and so much more. I wish to thank every staff member who has supported me in getting articles in on time, editing articles and providing me with quality photos for the Mooi (especially Mrs Broodryk, Mr Schmidt and Mr Paiva). I will miss it, but I don’t regret my decision.

Good Luck to the new editor for 2014. Have a Happy Holiday.

“I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End” Revelation 22:13

Leave a Reply

